Mark Ashworth - ADR Solutions


Arbitration News

Arbitration News

6/30:

Black workers matter, so end forced arbitration

As employment lawyers who have devoted our careers to fighting discrimination in the workplace, we are heartened to see the world awaken to systemic and structural racism after the egregious killings of George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery and Breonna Taylor.

read more
 
6/30:

Supreme Court of Canada Finds Arbitration Clause to Be “Uber” Unconscionable

On June 26, 2020, the Supreme Court of Canada (SCC) released its decision in Uber Technologies Inc. v. Heller. The SCC ruled in favour of the plaintiff, allowing him to proceed with a class-action lawsuit in Ontario courts, rather than through a foreign arbitration.

read more
 
6/30:

Questions To Ask When Changing Your Arbitration Clause

In a prior post, we highlighted some questions that companies may want to ask when evaluating whether their arbitration clauses are enforceable. If changes need to be made to those clauses, then companies should consider how to implement those changes so as to ensure those are enforceable too.

read more
 
6/30:

Employee Arbitration Agreements Can Include Some Confidentiality Provisions, NLRB Holds

The National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) has held an employer lawfully included confidentiality language in an arbitration agreement its employees were required to sign as a condition of employment. California Commerce Club, Inc., 369 NLRB No. 106 (June 19, 2020).

read more
 
6/30:

Global Arbitration and Mediation Services Market: Trends Estimates High Demand by 2027

Research on Arbitration and Mediation Services Market (impact of COVID-19)

read more
 
6/23:

Sweating The Details: Court Analyzes User Interface To Uphold Online Arbitration Clause

Online service providers typically seek to mitigate risk by including arbitration clauses in their user agreements. In order for such agreements to be effective, however, they must be implemented properly.

read more
 
6/23:

NLRB Gives Green Light to Confidentiality Provisions in Individual Arbitration Agreements

In many private arbitration agreements entered into in the non-union context, employers and employees agree that the proceedings shall remain confidential. On June 19, 2020, the Board addressed whether a confidentiality provision that arguably restricted an employee participating in the arbitration process from disclosing terms and conditions of employment violates the NLRA.

read more
 
6/23:

Counterpoint: In defense of arbitration

In deciding if recent criticism is accurate, it's important to look at the facts.

read more
 
6/23:

An Arbitration Clause Health Check

Arbitration clauses with class action waivers remain one of the most effective tools that consumer-facing companies can employ to fend off consumer class action litigation. Yet many companies stumble both in getting their customers to agree to the arbitration clause and in drafting a clause that captures all claims that they might face.

read more
 
6/16:

Effective Case Management in Arbitration and Virtual Hearings
Check out a free webinar presented through Arbitral Women by Mireze Phillippe and Mohamed Abdel Wahab on June 18th, 2020 at 11:00 Paris and Cairo (CET) / 17:00 Shanghai / 18:00 Seoul / 18:30 Adelaide / 19:00 Sydney and Melbourne.

read more
 

Read all news >